Calling My Name

callingmyname.jpg
callingmyname.jpg

Calling My Name

17.99

Calling My Name

Liara Tamani

Hardcover
Publication Date: 10/24/2017
Themes: African American, Coming of Age, Family, Self-actualization
Age: 14+ years old
Pages: 320 pages

 

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

--------------

Reviews

"For Taja, the narrator of Liara Tamani's luminous episodic debut, faith in God is as much a part of her as her long legs and brown skin...a complex portrait of a young woman trying to reconcile what she's been taught, both in church and out in the world, with what she truly believes."--Chicago Tribune

"While not quite stream of consciousness, this novel moves dreamily along wayward paths. ...Readers willing to be swept along by Tamani's poetic language and imagery will appreciate the journey. ... This debut is reminiscent of Jacqueline Woodson's Brown Girl Dreaming or Marilyn Hilton's Full Cicada Moon ."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

"Tamani's debut novel brims with heart and soul, following its African-American protagonist, Taja Brown, as she searches for spirituality, love, and a sense of self. Absorbing."--Publishers Weekly

"This lush debut novel is written in distinct prose that reads like poetry. Young adults will connect with this protagonist and this dynamic new voice. Fans of The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas will especially love this lyrical novel. A great selection in any library collection."
--School Library Journal

Quantity:
Add To Cart