Back to All Events

Charles Todd

  • Bethany Beach Books 99 Garfield Pkwy Bethany Beach, DE, 19930 United States (map)
Gate Keeper Cover FInal.jpg

Meet mother-son writing team Charles and Caroline Todd on Sunday, July 15th at 6:30pm.

The Gate Keeper

Hours after his sister's wedding, a restless Ian Rutledge drives aimlessly, haunted by the war, and narrowly misses a motorcar stopped in the middle of a desolate road. Standing beside the vehicle is a woman with blood on her hands and a dead man at her feet- yet no murder weapon. The woman claims a stranger on the road asked Stephen Wentworth- a local bookshop owner- one questions, and then shot him.

On edge and a witness to the crime, Rutledge takes on the inquiry and finds that Wentworth was well-liked by nearly everyone. Yet his own mother claims Stephen's smiled concealed a cold-blooded killer. The inquiry pulls Rutledge in multiple directions, but when a second murder occurs, he must discover what in Stephen's life-or death-has the power to go on killing. Or it will not stop...


"As always, Todd deppen their crafty whodunit with a moving exploration of their astute sleuth's inner torments." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

About Charles and Caroline

Charles Todd is the mother son writing team of Charles and Caroline Todd. Charles Todd is the 2017 winner of the Mary Higgins Clark Award (The Shattered Tree) and is the New York Times Best Selling Their latest Titles are: The Gate Keeper 2/6/2018 and A Forgotten Place 9/18/2018.

They are the authors of 32 novels, the short story anthology Tales and published 16 short stories. There are twenty mystery thrillers in the Ian Rutledge Series. A Test of Wills was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and selected by the Independent Book Sellers Association as one of their favorite mysteries of the 20th century. A Red Door (December 2009) was the sixth consecutive novel to receive a starred review from Publishers Weekly and described as “One of the best historical mysteries being written today” Washington Post Book World. The Rutledge Novels have won The Agatha Award, Barry Award, Silver Falchion Award (Best Novel: Traditional Mystery) and received multiple nominations for the Anthony Award, and Nominations for the Edgar, and Silver Dagger awards. There are ten mysteries in the Bess Crawford series beginning with A Duty to the Dead in 2009 and in 2013 An Unmarked Grave received the Macavity (Sue Feder) Historical Mystery Award. Guest of Honor at Malice Domestic, and is an Agatha Award winner. Caroline and Charles live on the East Coast.


Earlier Event: July 14
Chanel Cleeton
Later Event: July 16
Tom Ryan