Back to All Events

Jamie Brenner

  • Bethany Beach Books 99 Garfield Pkwy Bethany Beach, DE, 19930 United States (map)
authoreventsbanner.jpg
husbandhour.jpg
JamieBrennerauthorphoto.jpg
foreversummer.jpg
weddingsisters.jpg

Meet Jamie Brenner, author of The Husband Hour, on June 7th from 6:30pm-8:30pm.

The Husband Hour

“I was captivated by this irresistible tale of families and lovers, the secrets we keep, and the healing we need. THE HUSBAND HOUR is a page-turner with a soul as deep as the ocean.”

— Nancy Thayer, author of A NANTUCKET WEDDING

When a young widow's reclusive life in a charming beach town is interrupted by a surprise visitor, she is forced to reckon with dark secrets about her family, her late husband, and the past she tried to leave behind.

Lauren Adelman and her high school sweetheart, Rory Kincaid, are a golden couple. They marry just out of college as Rory, a star hockey player, earns a spot in the NHL. Their future could not look brighter when Rory shocks everyone-Lauren most of all-by enlisting in the U.S. Army. When Rory dies in combat, Lauren is left devastated, alone, and under unbearable public scrutiny. 

Seeking peace and solitude, Lauren retreats to her family's old beach house on the Jersey Shore. But this summer she's forced to share the house with her overbearing mother and competitive sister. Worse, a stranger making a documentary about Rory tracks her down and persuades her to give him just an hour of her time.

One hour with filmmaker Matt Brio turns into a summer of revelations, surprises, and upheaval. As the days grow shorter and her grief changes shape, Lauren begins to understand the past-and to welcome the future.

Early Praise:

“An irresistible must-read about dealing with our pasts, gaining strength from our struggles, and what it really takes to move on.”

— Popsugar

“A tale of the complexities of sisterhood, love, and the secrets we keep—even from ourselves—The Husband Hour will grab you from the first sentence and hold you in its grasp until the last.”

— Kristy Woodson Harvey, author of SLIGHTLY SOUTH OF SIMPLE and THE SECRETS TO SOUTHERN CHARM

“Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Jane Green will adore Jamie Brenner’s THE HUSBAND HOUR, a poignant and powerful tale of one woman’s journey to find peace against the idyllic backdrop of her family’s seaside home. Forgiveness, homecoming, healing, and a second chance at love make for a heady cocktail that will keep readers captivated long after they have turned the final page. ”

— Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of THE ORPHAN'S TALE

“A powerful story of love and loss set in a dreamy beach town. THE HUSBAND HOUR is the first must-read of the summer!”

— Fiona Davis, author of THE ADDRESS and THE DOLLHOUSE


About Jamie
From Jamie's website

Jamie Brenner grew up in suburban Philadelphia obsessed with books by Norma Klein, Judy Blume, and Judith Krantz.  After studying literature at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., Jamie moved to New York City where she started her career at HarperCollins Publishers, then later Barnes&Noble.com and Vogue.com before returning to books and becoming an author.  Her novel The Forever Summer is a USA Today bestseller. Her new book, The Husband Hour, publishes in April 24 with Little, Brown.  Jamie  lives in New York City with her husband and teenage daughters. 

 

Earlier Event: June 6
Michelle Gable
Later Event: June 16
Jenny Milchman